Surgeon's House Bed & Breakfast

Home ] [ Guest Suites ] [ Reservation Requests ] The Gardens ] Directions & Weather ] News Exchange ]



August 25, 2014

Phoenix Magazine came to visit again to gather information for their "Arizona Wine Country" issue. They had this to say: "To experience the truly eccentric splendor of a Jerome B&B, we recommend a stay at The Surgeon's House . . . It's run by Andrea Prince, who has lovingly restored the rooms, decks, and gardens of the house to reflect their storied history, incorporating art, books and mementos she's collected. Her koi pond is filled with sassy celebrities - Emily Post and Frank Sinatra have aquatic namesakes - and she proudly displays guests' art. All this, plus she makes a mean breakfast: for our stay, it was poached salmon, roasted asparagus with sesame oil, corn and roasted tomato strata, aioli, three kinds of salsa, coconut scones, cornbread, fruit and more."




February 18, 2014

It's been awhile since we posted a review, and it might seem a little self-serving, but we couldn't resist including this link to a review by our own niece, Lindsay. Not surprisingly, she gives us a glowing review. Here it is.




It's been a little while since we've had some press in the Arizona Republic, but on March 24, 2012 there was a nice little piece mentioning the Surgeon' House. Here's the link if you would like to check it out. And here's some of what they had to say: "The four guest rooms are decorated with antiques and collectibles, and all have private baths. The Master Suite is spacious, with a cozy sitting area and private balcony. The well-landscaped grounds are breathtaking, with flowers, wall murals and reflecting ponds with cascading fountains and other nice touches."



This link is not really a review, but how can we not include an article and slideshow in the Wall Street Journal?   Click here to view the article

This link is from a recent article on the ABC affiate in Phoenix on March 17, 2011.



   The article below is from Phoenix Magazine - February 2009. The issue was dedicated to the best weekend adventures in Arizona. We were included for "Best Sleepover".



Travel and Outdoors
52 Weekend Adventures
Author: Laurie Davies
Issue: February, 2009, Page 101

FALL

#27 - Slumber in a Surgeon’s House, Jerome   

Overlooking Jerome and the Verde Valley, this two-story Spanish-style home was built in 1917 to house the chief surgeon of United Verde Copper Company’s hospital. The mine closed in the 1950s, sending the home into disrepair before retired nuclear engineer Andrea Prince bought it in 1992 and restored the grounds with exquisite gardens of cascading wisteria, lavender and iris. Inside, guests enjoy cozy rooms and fresh breakfasts from Prince’s own cookbooks. “It’s kind of like staying with Aunt Minnie, only you don’t have to deal with Aunt Minnie,” she says.

Elevation: 5,200 feet
Directions: Take I-17 north to the AZ-260 exit at Camp Verde. Turn left and proceed northwest for 13 miles. Turn left on AZ-89-Alt and go west for 6.8 miles to Jerome. Turn left onto Jerome Avenue, right onto Main Street, left to follow AZ-89-Alt, then bear right on Hill Street to the B&B, located at 101 Hill St.
Driving Time: 1 hour, 52 minutes (112 miles)
Hours: Check in at the front door between 4 p.m. and 6 p.m.; check out at 11 a.m.
Rates: $120 to $195 per night
Info: 928-639-1452 or surgeonshouse.com
Travel tip: The road that leads to the B&B, which sits nearly at the highest point in Jerome, is steep, narrow and winding, so it’s better to drive there during the day.




It seems as if we are getting a good amount of press these days. This review was written by Kendall Wright for "Arizona Highways". We feel honored to be included and recommended by such a prestigious publication.





This review was written by Coty Dolores Miranda for the Travel Section of the Arizona Republic on October 31, 2008



Surgeon's House

100 Hill St. 928-639-1452 www.surgeonshouse.com

This inn occupies a mansion built in 1917 by the United Verde Copper Co. for the head surgeon of its hospital (now the Jerome Grand Hotel) just steps up Hill Street.

Owner Andrea Prince purchased the faded property in 1992 and set to work to bring the two-story Victorian and its terraced gardens back to their former glory.

Prince is quick to praise the work of the Jerome craftsmen, tradesmen and artisans who helped bring the restoration to life. The living room, solarium, dining room, kitchen and library are open to guests, and each is rich in artwork, including oil and watercolor paintings done by artists who have stayed there.

The four guest rooms are decorated with antiques and funky collectibles in a pleasing eclectic style. All have private baths.

The Master Suite ($175) has a sitting room with rattan chairs, plants and stained glass. A large private patio offers views of the Verde Valley and Sedona's red rocks.

The Maid's Suite is two adjoining bedrooms that can be booked together or separately. The entire suite, with two private bathrooms, costs $265. Or select just the large front room, with a view of the valley and garden ($145) or the smaller back room ($120).

The colorful Chauffeur's Quarters ($195), above the garage and separate from the main house, offers more privacy. The Verde Valley is visible from the king-size bed, and there are a secluded patio, covered with a grape arbor, and a rooftop balcony.

The grounds are breathtaking. Besides an abundance of flowers, there are hidden treasures, from trompe l'oeil wall murals to a secluded bench in a stand of bamboo, as well as two reflecting ponds with cascading fountains and koi fish.

Each day Prince whips up several hot breakfast dishes on her prized Wolf stove, using fresh, locally grown ingredients. Breakfast is served at 8:30, and hot beverages are available at sunrise. Homemade cookies and other complimentary munchies are available day and night, as are sodas, wine and beer.



Another recent review was written for "Yelp" website by, Kerstin Manley.

We just returned from a lovely weekend at The Surgeon's House Bed & Breakfast, which is just down the hill from the Grand Hotel. The owner, Andrea, is an amazing hostess and cook, a kind of spiritual guide to some (in a very cool, and definitely non-culty way), as evidenced by the types of comments made in her guest registry, and the possessor of a very green thumb.

It's amazing to see the photo album that documents the state of the place when she bought it and the incredible amount of work she has put into her home, which she shares with many people who never seem to feel like strangers. The grounds are worth the visit alone- at once sprawling and meandering- full of flourishing flora (and a few fauna) that one would not expect to see in one place in Arizona. There are many nooks and crannies inside and outside of the house, where unexpected seating appears, inviting one to curl up with a great book, or just sit and let the city wash away. My father-in-law commented that it would be a wonderful locale for a corporate retreat or team-building activity.

There are four rooms available, The Maid's Front and Back, The Master's, and the Chauffeur's. The Chauffeur's is separate from the rest, which has its sound-proofing benefits (if you catch my drift) and is by far the funkiest room, with the brightest and most eclectic decor. The bathroom is open, so don't share it with someone who has a shy bladder. There are interesting and odd old books all over, no TV's, and 2 resident cats. If you're a cat person like I am, you'll understand immediately why I said before I even knew there were cats on premises, that there ought to be.

Finally, Andrea's breakfasts are just fantastic. Like everything else, the two we had were eclectic and appealing. There was salmon, tilapia, fresh bread, asparagus, marinated mushrooms, juices, coffee, fruit, the best scones any of us have ever had, eggs Lindsey (scrambled with Monterey Jack and paprika), and more. All made fresh, all made by Andrea with love and best wishes for her guests' good health.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Jerome, now that we have experienced the Surgeon's House, and Andrea's warmth. It's clear she's doing what she was meant to, and we're all just lucky that she's willing to be so honestly generous with her Sanctuary.




A very warm review was written for "Desert Currents" magazine by its editor, Bridget Lewison. Her kind thoughts are reprinted below by permission.





This nice review was posted online by a happy guest at The Trip Advisor



Andrea Prince has created a beautiful B & B, perched on the mountainside overlooking the vast Verde Valley, and to stay with her is a delectable, unique experience. She has made the Surgeon's House a work of art, where color and light change from room to room, and comfortable nooks abound. Ms. Prince is a quiet dynamo, up early for her morning meditation followed by her jog about the town of Jerome. I found her after her jog, busy in her marvelous kitchen, preparing the guest breakfasts. She initially bought the Surgeon's House, from the mining company, to be her primary residence.

Local artists have contributed to the character of the place, from the interior paint schemes to the garden stonework and floral plantings. Her home is filled with an eclectic array of art, ranging from Arizona artists to works by Emmett Fritz, a mid 20th century painter from St. Augustine, Florida. Fritz is a favorite of Andrea's, as she grew up watching him paint the street scenes of that city, and she has a remarkable collection of his work.

Andrea denies being an artist, but the point is arguable after one sees her in her kitchen and tastes her wonderful breakfast creations. She has a 72" Wolf commercial range that she keeps busy, popping such treats as homemade scones and egg and multi cheese casseroles in and out of the two ovens. She has written three cookbooks (and she has a CD available that have the recipes and artwork from all three), and she is masterful in her productions. Without exaggeration, our breakfast was the best that we have ever had in a B & B or most restaurants, for that matter. There is something for everyone, and plenty of it. Anything left that the guests do not eat go to the neighbors, which would be a good reason to possibly move to Jerome and be close to the Surgeon's House! The refrigerator is filled with drinks available at all times, including wines, and the kitchen counter always has some goodies (chocolate brownies!)

We stayed in the Maid's Room, Front, and our windows overlooked the Valley and Andrea's Garden. The bed was comfortable and loaded with pillows; the room well appointed. Here, as in the rest of the house, there is plenty of neat art and things to look at on the walls. The view from the room is terrific. As there are no mosquitoes in Jerome (I guess one of the few places in the world!), we slept with the screenless windows open for the pleasant valley breezes to waft in from far below. If you have forgotten any toiletries, the bathroom closet is filled with every possible need...shampoos, shaving cream and razors, Q-tips, lotions; it's just like home. The tap water is good to drink, coming from the mountain springs.

Outside, the extended gardens were coming to glory this springtime, flowers beginning to bloom as the valley breeze stirred the stand of black bamboo. Comfortable lawn chairs are scattered throughout, most with valley views. An upper and lower level fishpond is filled with healthy looking goldfish of many colors, all of which are named by Andrea. They are quite tame, as Andrea can pick them up, and they'll come up to the surface to gently "kiss" your fingertips when you put your hand in the water. It's quite neat.

Jerome can get a little noisy on the weekends, with bikers coming in and bands playing in the heart of town. The Surgeon's House is close to, yet up above the fray, so you can participate in the party if you would like, yet walk back and have a restful sleep away from the drumbeats of the late-nighters. Our stay at Andrea's was an absolute delight, and I hope to have the opportunity to visit her again. She knows what she is about, and she runs her place as a B & B ought to be run: with attention to her guests wants and needs with a warm and caring disposition. Meeting people like Ms. Prince is one of the great things about travel...she has made the Surgeon's House into a true home away from home. If you are to stay in Jerome, this is the place to check into!


This TripAdvisor Member:

Liked — The ambience is wonderful, and meeting Andrea Prince is a delight.
Disliked — There are no negatives in the Surgeon's House experience.






(From "Fulton County Daily Report", published in Atlanta Georgia)

A TRIP TO ARIZONA can become a geology lesson in a hurry. Hike around the multicolored layers of the Grand Canyon, or drive through the red cliffs outside Sedona, and you're bound to ask some questions.

But once you have the answers—iron deposits are responsible for the rusty hues around Sedona, and scientists still are exploring how the Colorado River carved the Grand Canyon—the rocks can lose their luster. Something a little more animal, instead of mineral, beckons.

For my wife Deb and me, the little town of Jerome, population 450, satisfied this craving at the end of a recent six-day trip around the state.

Built into the side of a mountain about 20 miles southwest of Sedona, Jerome is the result of a classic boom-to-bust story, with a new chapter being written, painted, sculpted and woven by dozens of local artists.

Native Americans first populated the area, according to the storefront museum of the Jerome Historical Society, which sits on one of the town’s three major streets. From 1870 until 1875, about 6,000 Yavapai lived on a reservation there. But then the U.S government took the land back, and the Yavapai fell to about 1,000.

Speculators came, and by the 1920s, copper mining had drawn 15,000 residents to Jerome. Along with a darkened corner that shows what the inside of a mine looked like, the museum has a colorful and informative exhibit about a side industry that thrived as well, called “The World’s Oldest Profession.”

Several Jerome establishments revel in the town’s infamous flesh trade, such as Belgian Jennie’s Bordello Bistro & Pizzeria, which advertises “the best piece in town.” But the museum takes a largely sober look at the business, using court records and a model of a prostitute’s boudoir to tell the story. Among other things, it explained the different tiers of the business, descending from parlor houses to brothels to “cribs,” where women served 20 to 30 men a night and suffered the worst health problems.

When the copper mine closed in 1953, barely 50 residents remained, and Jerome soon earned the moniker of “ghost town.” The museum credits hippies for Jerome’s rebirth in the 1960s, but artists appear to be leading the way today—making up about half of the town’s 450 residents.

One of the first to set up shop was David Hall, who opened Made in Jerome Pottery in 1972.

Hall said he became familiar with Jerome on family trips between California and the Midwest. After going to college in Flagstaff, he moved to Jerome to set up his pottery store.

“It’s a very unique place,” said Hall, who digs up local clay for his pieces.

One of the newest residents is painter Joe Christopher, who found post-Katrina New Orleans too hard on his business to stay. Shopping for a new location, Christopher passed on Taos, N.M., and said he found Sedona “too commercial.”

“This town,” he said, “is funky enough to be fun.”

He displays his work, amusing folksy paintings that include a wedding scene from New Orleans’ Jackson Square, at his gallery, Lola.

Jerome’s galleries feature a wide range of work—from sophisticated stained glass to metal structures made from used farm equipment. Some of the pieces we found interesting at the Jerome Artists Cooperative Gallery were wood carvings, glass mosaics, batik (made from hot wax on fabric) and something called “polymer transfers on anodized titanium.”

Deb and I stayed in a bed-and-breakfast called the Surgeon’s House, which was the home of the town doctor in the mining days.

Our room, which cost $145 a night, featured a firm king-size bed, a private bathroom and a view that took full advantage of Jerome’s mile-high perch above the Verde Valley. The red rocks near Sedona and the San Francisco peaks near Flagstaff, 60 miles away, highlighted this commanding view.

The owner of the Surgeon’s House is the irrepressible Andrea Prince, whose art comes in the form of hearty breakfasts she serves at 8:30 each morning. During our stay, the offerings included poached salmon with Prince’s experimental wasabi mustard, homemade scones, bananas and strawberries with yogurt, egg and mozzarella bread pudding, asparagus, and portobello mushrooms, which she called “fake steak.”

One afternoon I spent a couple of hours in the Surgeon’s House garden, lying on a chaise lounge reading, napping and inhaling the honeysuckle that surrounds it.

Prince made my day when she informed us, as we arrived in sweaty T-shirts and shorts after hiking in Sedona, that we were impeccably dressed for Jerome’s best restaurants.

color=#000000 The first night we walked down the hill to Grapes on Main Street, where I enjoyed an Angus burger drizzled with red zinfandel wine on a sourdough bun; the menu suggested pairing it with a 2005 Gnarly Head zinfandel. Delicious.

The next night we walked up the hill to The Asylum, the restaurant in the Jerome Grand Hotel, once the town hospital that has an even better view than the Surgeon’s House. The highlight was an appetizer tasting of four wines—two whites and two reds—that we combined with four different cheeses. Our favorite was not the California sauvignon blanc, the white Bordeaux or the Chilean cabernet, but a red wine from Page Springs Cellars in nearby Cornville. Since I am not a wine expert, I’ll simply agree with what the menu said: The 2005 Vino de la Familia displayed “a remarkable synergy” of petite syrah, syrah, cabernet pfeffer and viognier.

If you are looking for something different after sharing amazing views with crowds at the Grand Canyon and Sedona, Jerome is a worthy option.

Managing Editor Jonathan Ringel can be reached at jringel@alm.com.



(From Arizona Woman, published in Phoenix, Arizona, May 2007)

By Nancy Clark

Sparkly crystals and funky, historic knick-knacks fill Andrea Prince's home, also known as the Surgeon's House Bed and Breakfast in Jerome.

The faint aromas of incense and sage remind you that you're in a place where everything from spirituality to art is celebrated a bit differently. The lush gardens, the dining room and the north-facing guest rooms are graced with a sweeping view of the Verde Valley, where the lights of the cities below twinkle at night and the red rocks of Sedona can be seen by day. The historic house oozes charm.

This is what makes Jerome a popular place for people looking for something more authentic than what you'd get on a typical touristy day trip.

"We aren't all just shops and tourists," Prince says. "There is also a dimension of Jerome that is simply magical. It offers a change in topography, geography, altitude, attitude, everything . . . Being here overnight lets you feel like you are actually looking down at the 'other' world and that this one is the 'real' world, even if just for an overnight or weekend."

That sense of escape is what keeps Prince's bed-and -breakfast filled nearly year-round. Well, that and her gourmet breakfasts of creative food and beverage combinations.

"We make a big deal out of breakfast because I think everything ought to be celebratory when you take the time and energy to take a much=deserved time-out to your daily life," says Prince, who likes to chat with her guests.

"My home is a grand old lady with a personality all of her own. She chose me, and I am grateful. I intend that my guests truly know they are in a home that welcomes them to be themselves and to relax and be waited on and catered to. My gardens are serene and inviting and evolving. The have a life of their own as well."






I would also like to thank the folks at LRL (Land Rover LifeStyle) for giving us such a marvelous write-up in their June 2006 issue.


Surgeon's House in Jerome, Arizona

B&B Training ] Breakfast ] Reservation Requests ] The Gardens ] Cookbook Orders ] News Exchange ]

Surgeon's House in Jerome, Arizona

Telephone:
1-928-639-1452
Postal Address:
P.O. Box 998,
Jerome, AZ, 86331
General information:
surgeonshouse@surgeonshouse.com